Writing a Letter in French


Writing a letter in French?

Alors, il y a quelques chose qu’on doit faire.

When writing a letter in French it is important to consider your tone, formal or informal and then follow some simple rules.

  • Formal writing is always the most appropriate option when writing in French, as written language tends to be.
  • Moreover each single idea requires a new paragraph.
  • The salutation at the end should be eloquent and consider, much more involved than a simple “regards”.
  • Note: in French letters are considered to be a very personal thing, personalise your letter by carefully considering your subject and purpose.
  • Note: Letters in French are also commonly handwritten, even in the age of technology, handwritten letters are highly regarded and are thought to reflect the author through the quality and style of the writing. The French take much pride in their ability to create beautiful handwriting. What’s more the presentation of a letter and its typography is considered essential.
  • Side note: in France ball point pens are not widely used, instead, calligraphy style pens are most common.

Here is an example of how to approach writing a letter in French to a French Agency when you next go on holidays for instance and wish to apply for a home-stay.

Bonjour Madame/Monsieur,

Je me présente, je m’appelle Anne-Sophie et je suis australienne. J’ai vous écrit parce que quand je vais bientôt voyager à France je voudrais bien avec le grand plaisir de rester avec une famille français.

Le but de mon voyage à France est, en court, de partager mon l’anglais et apprendre plutôt la culture, la vie et le langage de France. Voila, c’est mon intention de trouver une famille d’accueille.

Pour moi, ceci voyage est très important. Après des études dur et élever une famille, j’ai décidé de prend l’occasion de me faire plaisir et faire un tour du monde. Je commence mon voyage à la fin de Janvier 2012 pour les trois mois en total.

Dans le cadre de ce voyage, je voudrais vraiment passer du temps immergés dans la culture française. J’aime bien la culture française et je voudrais profiter bien de la façon de vivre en France. Pour moi, ca veut dire, rester avec une famille française.

Je n’ai pas une préférence d’une région ou ville quand je resterai en France. Je serai content si je sois un grand village, un petit village ou bien une grande ville.

Mon niveau de française est élémentaire, ca veut dire, je parle et je comprenne le française de base. Par conséquence, je désire d’apprendre et améliore mon française.

Si je suis bienvenue dans une famille française pendant mon séjour je serai certaine de faire mes meilleures des efforts pour accroitre mes connaissances.

En plus, j’ai l’intention de faire une semaine d’une cours intensif pour la conversation français avant de rejoindre une famille.

A parti de moi, mes amis me décrivent comme une personne amical, gentille et chaleureuse. Je reçois le plaisir de la compagnie des adultes et des enfants. En plus je me trouve vraiment plaisir à rencontrer de nouvelles personnes.

J’aime aussi le cuisiner. Je serais ravi de me familiariser avec tous les aliments quotidiens et les coutumes françaises. En retour, ce serait un privilège de partager ma culture australienne et la langue l’anglaise avec la famille.

J’imagine que nous, la famille accueille et moi, partagerai beaucoup des repas et d’activités remplie de rires de joie.

Vous remerciant veuillez accepter Madame, Monsieur mes salutations chaleureuse et cordial,

Anne-Sophie

 

If you have any tips for writing in French, please leave a comment below or any feedback.

Merci beaucoup

3 thoughts on “Writing a Letter in French

  1. English Translation of Letter.

    Hello Sir / Madam,

    Let me introduce myself, my name is Anne-Sophie and I am Australian. I am writing because when I’m about to travel to France I would like the pleasure of staying with a French family.

    The purpose of my trip to France is, in short, to share my English and learn more about culture, life and language of France. Here is my intention to find a foster family.

    To me, this trip is very important. After studying hard and raise a family, I decided to take the opportunity to have fun and do a world tour. I start my trip in late January 2012 for three months in total.

    As part of this trip, I would really like to spend time immersed in French culture. I like French culture and I want to take much of how to live in France. For me, it means, stay with a French family.

    I do not have a preference for a region or city where I will stay in France. I’ll be happy if I am a big village, a small town or big city.

    My level of French is basic, that means, I speak French and I understand the basic. Consequently, I want to learn and improve my French.

    If I am welcome to a French family during my stay I will be sure to make my best effort to increase my knowledge.

    In addition, I intend to do a one week intensive course for French conversation before joining a family.

    A part of me, my friends describe me as someone friendly, nice and warm. I get the pleasure of the company of adults and children. In addition I am really enjoy meeting new people.

    I also like cooking. I’d love to get familiar with all foods French newspapers and customs. In return, it would be a privilege to share my Australian culture and language with an English family.

    I guess we, the family home and I shared many meals and activities filled with laughter of joy.

    Thank you please accept warm and cordial greetings,

    Anne-Sophie

Leave a Reply

